The Rust Belt Rattled

The trivia question for this week is, what song does this line come from: “The light he said at the end of the tunnel / Was nothin’ but a burglar’s torch”?

Well, the Make America Gasp Again campaign is finally over. It ended in a night of shock and awe-my-God as Donald Trump walked all over the prognosticators predictions as they watched their nice little map of blue states and red states fall to pieces like the jigsaw puzzle maps I constantly got for my birthday when I was a kid. It seemed I heard the same mantra on every channel I went to: What are we seeing? How could this be happening?

What was happening was the mad-as-hell scene from the 1976 movie Network. People might not have been screaming out their windows at the top of their lungs, but your average Joe or Mary were rattling the rust off the belt in the upper northeastern United States, the Great Lakes, and the Midwest, areas suffering economic decline, population loss, and urban decay due to the shrinking of its once-powerful industrial sector. Joe and Mary didn’t get to move on up to the east side, and if they got any pie at all, it was old and stale. Now they are justifiably mad as hell at what they see as false promises and business as usual in Washington and are ready to have their voice heard and make a change. Apparently the loudest they could scream was by voting for the biggest change they could, a racist, sexist person who makes fun of disabled people and calls for offensive bombing attacks on sovereign nations because someone gave the middle finger. This is a very short list of the insane thoughts of the man some now call president, but maybe when you have been kicked long enough and you feel powerless and someone with high visibility comes along shouting many of the things you feel, even if you don’t agree with all of them, you’ll let them get away with groping women and making fun of the disabled just as long as they seem to be telling the establishment to take an effing walk off a short pier.

I was driving a young friend home from work the other day, and we were talking about the election and the surprise we both had at how completely Trump marched to victory. I got on my soapbox about the 1960’s and protest and “The People” working for change. My friend, while young in years, is wise, and she said, “I am afraid that kind of passion is gone.”

Did you hear? The immigration website in Canada crashed with people wanting to leave America (or at least wanting to know how). To me, leaving is the wrong move. Stay in this country and organize, write, talk, march, protest. Do everything you can to make Donald Trump miserable and bring his regime to a quick end. Remember, it is still a government of the people, by the people, and for the people, and this is our country. He may be in the White House, but he can be impeached. Watch him closely and draw attention to his every false move. In my mind, he’s only one discovered crime behind Richard Nixon. If there are enough people to crash Canada’s immigration website, there are enough people to bring his Big Top Circus in D.C. crashing down on the clown’s head.

I would like to say this is my last political blog and write about cute cats and puppies and clever kids that do tricks, at least for a while. I would like to say that and so I did, but I may also have lied.

In the podcast I’ll have the answer to the trivia question and as always some rock and roll news and history. I hope you’ll join me on the shores of Rambling Harbor.

 

 

