Random Thoughts from Rambling Harbor

The trivia question for this week is, Who was the first president to call his residence in Washington, D.C., “The White House,” and what was it called before that?

Like many people, I’m still reeling from the election results. In last week’s blog, I toyed with the idea of putting an end to writing about politics, at least for a while. This is one of those times when I have so many thoughts running through my head it’s impossible to grab just one long enough to write about it. If I were to put my feelings in a traffic reporter’s jargon (and I did spend the last 5 years of my “live” radio career as a traffic and news reporter), it would sound something like this: There is a major backup through the gray matter causing residual delays into the heart zone, which is bringing the on-and-off arteries to a near stop. So what follows is a short list of random thoughts.

Random thought #1: Megyn Kelly is too good to be real. She has it all: She’s extremely intelligent, shows a lot of strength, and gives me the impression she is a really good, honest person, not to mention absolutely gorgeous. No wonder Donald Trump is afraid of her. I saw her interview with Anderson Cooper the other night, and while I am not easily impressed by media people, I was very impressed with her.

Random thought #2: Sarah Palin is on “The Donald’s” list for Interior Secretary. Really! The U.S. Department of the Interior uses sound science (notice the words sound science) to manage and sustain America’s lands, water, wildlife, and energy resources, honors our nation’s responsibilities to tribal nations, and advocates for America’s island communities. This is the same Sarah Palin who as Republican vice presidential nominee used the expression “Drill, baby, drill!” and didn’t know the address of the White House. If she gets the job, I wonder if they will call her Madam Shotgun Momma Secretary?

Random thought #3: I have heard a lot of talk about what would happen if Donald Trump was ousted. What if the majority of voters got their wish and the Electoral College voted as “unfaithful voters,” which they can do, and declared Hillary Clinton the president?  All hell would break loose! Well, it’s breaking loose anyway as Trump’s manic minions run wild with racial insults, harassment, and violence and in their warped minds think they have the blessings of the commander-in-chief.

Random thought #4: Tom Brady, quarterback of the New England Patriots, is doing new ads for Foot Locker, and the one I saw is really good. He goes into a controlled tirade about how questions and suspicions get blown out of proportion and become rumors that become investigations. He really digs into a deeper part of himself, and you can feel his emotions. It is very clear that he is ripping “Deflategate” apart, and his passion is so real I think he must have gone to the Lee Strasberg School of Method Acting.

Random thought #5: I don’t want to think anymore.

On the shores of Rambling Harbor, I will have the answer to the trivia question and as always some rock and roll news and history. I hope you’ll join me there.

